Story by Mark Jonas

Hi Sainters
On behalf of the NRFC, Congratulation to our big forward Michael Apeness, who has been
named in the 30 man squad for the EFL “Premier Division – Team of the Year” 2019.
The final team of 22 will be announced at the EFL Chandler Medal on Wednesday, September
Since arriving at Quambee this year from Fremantle Football Club, Michael, still only a young man
himself has been a fantastic inclusion into our club helping out our young team with his AFL
Michael played 17 out of the 18 Home & Away games only missing our Rd 17 game against
In the 17 Games played, Michael was named in the best on 10 occasions and booted 28 majors
for the year, which placed him in equal 10th on the Premier League Goal kickers ladder.
Once again, congratulations mate on a great year at the Saints and all the best in a few weeks
time on making the final team of 22 and look forward to seeing you back on the field in 2020 in
the red, white & black!

Please see below the news article released by the EFL and the list of the 30 man squad.

The Eastern Football League has officially announced the 30-man SEN Team of the Year
squads across each division.
Premier Division sees South Croydon and Vermont lead the way with six players named each,
while in Division 1, Doncaster East and Lilydale boast five apiece.
The Division 2 squad features eight Boronia players, while South Belgrave is represented nine
times in Division 3.
In Division 4, grand finalists East Burwood and Fairpark each have eight players named.
Final teams will be announced at the Chandler Medal on Wednesday, September 18.
Premier Division
Charlie Haley – Balwyn
Kris Pendlebury – Balwyn
Ryley Monkhorst – Balwyn
Jake Hammond – Blackburn
Lachlan Howe – Blackburn
Nick Gray – Blackburn
Chris Annakis – Doncaster
Tim Jones – Montrose
Kyle Martin – Noble Park
Jackson Sketcher – Noble Park
Michael Apeness – North Ringwood
Leigh Williams – Norwood
Mitch O’Donnell – Norwood
Rhett Jordon – Norwood
Alex Frawley – Rowville
Anthony Brolic – Rowville
Lachlan McDonald – Rowville
Ziggie Alwan – Rowville
Daniel Cooper South Croydon
Chris Jones – South Croydon
Daniel King – South Croydon
Jordan Walker – South Croydon
Matt Jones – South Croydon
Max King – South Croydon
Andrew Ainger – Vermont
Brett Eddy – Vermont
Lachlan Johns – Vermont
Matthew Wilcocks – Vermont
Mitch Honeychurch -Vermont
Rory Lehmann – Vermont